Ozzy Osbourne – Live at Budokan

We’re looking to fill a new position here at Review-O-Matic. We’re looking for someone to just review new Ozzy Osbourne related material. With all the new stuff related to their new television show combined with a newly-found nationwide love for the Prince of Evil, it should be at least a part-time position that could work into something full time. The benifits suck and there’s no pay. Apply within.

In the meantime, I guess I’ll go ahead and review Ozzy’s latest offering, Live At Budokan.

You know, I consider myself a semi-Ozzy fan. I could take him or leave him. I respect him for his older work more than I enjoy his newer stuff. Respectively, I’ve purchased most of his earlier albums and downloaded most of the later ones. I respect the ol’ codger and like the rest of America, I’ve begun to feel sorry for him after watching the first season of “The Osbournes” on MTV.

Sorry, got sidetracked. Anyway, as a “casual” Ozzy fan, I’ve purchased the following Ozzy live albums over the years: Beast in the Darkness, Just Say Ozzy, Tribute (double live album), Speak of the Devil (double live album), and Live & Loud (double live album). That’s five live Ozzy albums, three of them doubles. That doesn’t even count the live Sabbath stuff I have.

You can probably see where all this is heading. Ozzy Osbourne’s Live At Budokan is yet another live Ozzy album. The show was recorded on February 5th of this year with Ozzy’s current lineup and set list. A little over a fourth of the songs (31%, Mr. Math!) are “newer” material. Songs like “Junkie” and “Gets Me Through” spice up the set list a bit — that is, if you like Ozzy’s newer material, which I don’t. The nine remaining tracks are Ozzy classics. “Crazy Train”, “Bark at the Moon”, and “Paranoid” all appear, along with other Ozzy staples.

Is the disc bad? No, but I just feel like I’ve heard it before. And before that. And before that. Live At Budokan is being released next Tuesday on CD, VHS, and DVD. If you’re wanting to see the head-biting mad man in concert, who knows, the DVD might turn out to be pretty good. As far as the CD goes however, there’s not much reason to rebuy another Ozzy live disc.

01. I Don’t Know
02. That I Ever Had
03. Believer
04. Junkie
05. Mr. Crowley
06. Gets Me Through
07. No More Tears
08. I Don’t Want To Change The World
09. Road To Nowhere
10. Crazy Train
11. Mama I’m Coming Home
12. Bark at the Moon
13. Paranoid

Comments are closed.