Overkill – Wrecking Everything

2004 marks Overkill’s 20th year as a band together, and has released almost as many albums. Wrecking Everything is a live album that looks back on what was, what is, and what may never be again. Shortly after releasing Wrecking Everything, lead singer Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth suffered a stroke. Hopefully this won’t mean the end of the band, but if it does, you can rest assured that this album documents one of the best unsung metal acts of our time.

Despite never quite hitting the big time, Overkill attacks every song at every show like they’re number one — a fact that shows through on Wrecking Everything. “Thunderhead”, the second track on the disc, burns with more ferocity than anything I’ve heard recently. The energy continues right through to “Overkill”, the last track of the album.

The power of the band’s performance is equally conveyed through the disc’s brilliant production. I could not tell if there were overdubs or not, but if not, Overkill sounds damn good live. This CD does a good job of keeping that “live” sound without sacrificing quality. Songs like “I Hate” and “Deny the Cross” really come to live, and sound better here than they did on the band’s albums from the 80’s.

Wrecking Everything is a nice sampler dish, covering everything from very early to very recent Overkill. The only conspicuously missing track is “Hello From The Gutter”, the band’s big breakthrough single from 1988’s Under The Influence. Fans looking for that track (as well as nine additional ones) will want to check out the DVD version, of Wrecking Everything, which not only expands the show from 70 minutes to 120 minutes, but also contains a 90 minute documentary on the band as well. Great stuff from a great band.

01. Necroshine
02. Thunderhead
03. Evil Never Dies
04. Deny the Cross
05. I Hate
06. Shred
07. Bleed Me
08. Long Time Dyin’
09. It Lives
10. Battle
11. Years of Decay
12. In Union We Stand
13. Overkill

Comments are closed.