House of 1000 Corpses – Soundtrack

Ok, I’ll admit it. I downloaded and watched Rob Zombie’s new horror film House of 1000 Corpses early. I’ll also admit to being a huge Zombie fanboy, and to being extremely excited about this movie and this soundtrack. House of 1000 Corpses (the movie) has Rob Zombie’s fingerprints all over it. The movie looks like his music sounds — rough, gritty, and full of samples from other horror flicks. With a musician behind the project, it only makes sense that the film’s soundtrack would receive strong focus and promotion as well. It has, and as if the horror film everybody’s been waiting two years to get to see needed any more hype, Geffen has now released the soundtrack to the film two weeks before the movie’s debut. Offering a little something for everyone, the soundtrack contains a mix of new songs, old songs, soundtrack pieces, film samples, and “a big surprise” at the end (spoiled for you in about four paragraphs).

First up is Rob Zombie himself, who brings to the table five brand new songs: “Everybody Scream,” “Run Rabbit Run,” “Pussy Liquor,” “Little Piggy,” and the title track. Most of the tunes are slower paced than what we’re used to hearing from Zombie. Just as the film is a nod to 70’s horror, most of Zombie’s original songs on the soundtrack are a nod to 70’s horror music. Never before has Rob Zombie sounded so much like Marilyn Manson than on the album’s title track — maybe it’s that same, eerie keyboard sample they both use. And if you think that’s weird, both the title track and “Pussy Liquor” both remind me of Depeche Mode’s “Personal Jesus” in different ways. Go figure. Anyway, Zombie’s five new tracks are much closer pace-wise to “Living Dead Girl” than “Dragula.” Those waiting for a new White Zombie album can keep on waiting.

Several classic tracks found their way onto the track list as well. For those who haven’t seen the movie, track selections such as Slim Whitman’s “I Remember You,” Buck Owens’ “Who’s Gonna Mow Your Grass,” and particularly Helen Kane’s “I Wanna Be Loved By You” will seem out of place. And even to those of use who have seen the movie, the songs seem more like speed bumps than additions to the set list. The best classic track (and maybe the best song of the album) is the Ramones’ “Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue.”

In between songs, listeners are treated to movie samples and musical pieces from the film. The movie samples consist of 30 second clips from the film of people saying creepy stuff. “Oh I remember now,” one begins, “Doctor Satan! Goddamnnit everybody got to know about Doctor Satan. You know what I’m gonna do boy? I’m gonna do you a favor. I’m gonna let you meet the old bastard. It’s all true. The boogeyman is real. And you found him.” The musical soundscapes, while slightly longer in length, are similar in quality. While I admit to being a card-carrying Rob Zombie fan, and the musical pieces are okay to listen to once or twice, Dean Kamen or Danny Elfman he ain’t.

The big “surprise” at the end of the album is Rob Zombie’s cover version of the Commodores’ classic, “Brickhouse,” complete with guest performances by Lionel Ritchie, a rapper named Trina, and some chick who screams “harder, faster, oh yeah baby, give it to me!” long enough and loud enough to make even ME blush. And just when you think a nu-metal version of “Brickhouse” featuring both Lionel Ritchie and Rob Zombie on vocals couldn’t get any worse, the song breaks down to a female (Trina, I assume) rapping. “When I walk, nigga’s whistle/I keep ’em harder than a missile/when I’m doing my thisso.” I’m guessing this is the first Zombie track to include the words “my thisso” in it.

I’m sure there will be many people like myself who buy this soundtrack just to support Rob Zombie. The rest of the masses, who will pick this up either because they were looking for “Rob Zombie Solo Album Number 3” or perhaps just liked the film, will undoubtedly dump this CD into the nearest used bin by the thousands, where it will sit next to the thousands of “Beavis and Butthead Do America,” “Howard Stern’s Private Parts,” and “Airheads” soundtracks I see at every pawn shop. The original Zombie songs aren’t that good and the other songs are weird, which just leaves us with musical soundscapes, samples, and Lionel Ritchie.

Say you, say me. Say pass.

01. Howdy Folks
02. House Of 1000 Corpses – Rob Zombie
03. Saddle Up The Mule
04. Everybody Scream – Rob Zombie
05. Stuck In The Mud
06. Holy Miss Moley
07. Who’s Gonna Mow Your Grass – Buck Owens
08. Run Rabbit Run – Rob Zombie
09. Into The Pit
10. Something For You Men
11. I Wanna Be Loved By You – Helen Kane
12. Pussy Liquor – Rob Zombie
13. Scarecrow Attack
14. My Baby Boy
15. Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue – Ramones
16. Investigation And The Smokehouse
17. The Bigger The Cushion
18. I Remember You – Slim Whitman
19. Drive Out The Rabbit
20. Mary’s Escape
21. Little Piggy – Rob Zombie
22. Ain’t The Only Thing Tasty
23. Dr. Satan
24. Brickhouse 2003 – Rob Zombie
25. To The House

Comments are closed.